Friday, September 9, 2011

3.9b Female Reproductive System

The female reproductive system contains these parts:

- The two ovaries contain hundreds of undeveloped female sex cells called egg cells
Egg tubes - Each ovary is connected to the uterus by an egg tube. The egg tube is lined with cilia. Every month, an egg develops and becomes mature, and is released from an ovary. The cilia waft the egg along inside the egg tube and into the uterus.
Uterus - The uterus is also called the womb. It is a muscular bag with a soft lining. The uterus is where a baby develops until its birth.
Cervix - Is a ring of muscle at the lower end of the uterus. It keeps the baby in place in pregnancy.
Vagina - The vagina is a muscular tube that leads from the cervix to the outside of the woman's body.
Shows the oviduct, ovary, uterus, bladder, cervix, vagina and urethra


  1. great to see you maintaining the high quality to your blog. This will be a great resource when it comes to revision.

  2. great posts this term well done